NQF Levels

Level Descriptors


The NQF is made up of ten levels, each representing a different level of difficulty in learning and/or the application of knowledge and skills learnt (the outcomes of Learning).


Each Level Descriptor contains information referring to:

  • The learning skills used when learning
  • The type of knowledge acquired in learning
  • How the learning would normally be demonstrated
  • The situations in which learning would normally be demonstrated
  • The degree of supervision needed when learned knowledge and abilities are demonstrated
  • The responsibility for own actions when a learner demonstrates abilities acquired through learning
  • The responsibility able to be taken for and over others as a result of learning

The Level Descriptors do not represent years spent learning nor steps in a career structure for particular jobs or professions.