The NQA Council

The NQA is governed by a Council of 36 members who are appointed by and report to the Minister of Higher Education, Training and Innovation. Representation on Council reflects the valuable contribution of the social partners to education and training, with the Council membership including esteemed persons from:

  • Government ministries and agencies with responsibilities for planning, youth, women’s affairs, labour market, general, basic, vocational and higher education
  • the public higher education institutions
  • Professional associations
  • Employer groups
  • Employee groups
  • Private economic sector groups
  • Groups representing the differently-abled.

The Council is appointed for a term of three years. The first Chairperson of the Council was Mr Vitalis Ankama. The current Chairperson of the Council is Dr. Gilbert Likando, deputised by Dr. Anicia Peters. 



Council Committees

The NQA Council has a number of committees to assist it fulfil its legislative responsibilities. These are the:

  • Strategic Committee
  • Risk and Audit Committee
  • Accreditation, Assessment and Audit Committee
  • Qualifications Committee
  • Human Resources Committee
  • Finance Committee

Committee membership may include non-members.

NQA departments

The NQA is serviced by a Secretariat and  has four principal departments:

Office of the CEO

The CEO is Mr Franz E. Gertze

The Deputy-CEO is Mrs. Asnath Kaperu

Administration Department

This department is headed by  Mr Dennis Van Rooyen.

Accreditation, Assessment and Audit Department

This department is responsible for the accreditation of education and training providers and for conducting the quality audits leading to their re-accreditation. The department will also audit national assessment arrangements for national qualifications registered on the NQF.


The Head of the department is Mr Poli Andima.

Qualifications Department

This department is responsible for the registration of qualifications and unit standards on the NQF and for the evaluation of qualifications from abroad. This department will also administer the national database of learner attainments.

Mrs. Sara Alweendo heads this department.