1. What is the difference between NQA and NQF?

“The NQA” means the Namibian Qualifications Authority, a statutory body established by Act of Parliament “Namibia Qualification Authority Act, 1996 (Act No. 29 of 1996). “NQF” means the National Qualifications Framework. The NQF consists of 10 levels, each defined by a set of level descriptors. The National Qualifications Framework further consists of unit standards duly recognised by the NQA as being of registration quality. The NQF consists of qualifications duly recognized by the NQA as being of registration quality and that meet the criteria.

2. Why is an NQF important?

3. What is a Qualification?

“Qualification” means any award which represents the attainment, following robust assessment processes, of a coherent cluster of specified outcomes of learning to prescribed standards of performance : The following are qualification types recognised by the NQA as of register able quality. (a) certificates; (b) diplomas; (c) bachelor degree; (d) bachelor honours degree; (e) professional bachelor degree; (f) masters degree; and (g) doctoral degree.  

4. What is a Unit Standard?

“Unit standard” means a qualification component that may be formally recognized as an award independently of the award of the qualification.

5. How do I know if the qualification is registered on the framework?

Contact the NQA, the NQF department/section at the following details: Ms Faraday Platt, Tel: 061 384 152 E-mail: Faraday-Meleen.Platt@namqa.org

6. What are the NQF credits?

NQF Credits is a common currency unit to the quantity of learning.
  • 1 NQF Credit is equal to 10 notional (learning) hours.
  • Total hours divided by 10 = NQF Credits.

7. How is the different qualification types aligned on the NQF?

8. a) What is the difference between Level 3 and Level 6 Certificate?

The difference depends on the complexity of learning. The level descriptors make it clear by outlining the learning outcomes at each level. As you are progressing with NQF levels, the more complex (difficult) the learning becomes. b) What is the difference between Level 7 Certificate, Level 7 Diploma and Level 7 Bachelor Degree?

9. What are the recognised Fields of studies in Namibia?

There are twelve FIELDS that have been approved as the broadest categorisation of learning outcomes on the NQF in Namibia:FIELDS of Learning

10. Do the NQF registered qualifications get expired?

Yes, any qualification registered on the Namibia NQF has only a valid period of 5 (five) years and after this period it must be reviewed and then re-registered.